Some Bolt Action Games

Recently, my friend Steve and I have been playing our way through the Road to Berlin scenarios. They have been great fun, although some of the games do make it quite hard for one player to win. Steve has been playing the beleaguered Germans, while I have used my Soviet army.

90EA3B86-69A1-4D92-BDE6-90F7F9DE2D82

Most of the figures shown are from Warlord. The sniper, however, is from Bad Squiddo Games. The vehicles are from Rubicon.

The latest game involved the Germans trying to break through the Soviet lines to the relative safety of Norway. I deployed all the Soviets on the table. I had no troops in reserve as I did not want to risk failed order tests. This may have been a mistake. Steve pushed all his troops forward in a very narrow column up the side of one edge of the board. I was forced to throw men forward in a effort to slow his advance. Steve destroyed my units effectively. While some of my troops, having to run from the other side of the board, failed to make it to even firing range. Needless to say Steve won the game. Next time the battle will be An Unexpected Encounter. The Soviet army is largely made up of NKVD troops. Should be interesting. I will try to take some pictures of the actual game.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment