This week I have been mainly…

This week I have been mainly painting Free Folk from the Game by CMon Games, A Song of Ice and Fire. I have enjoyed playing the game very much. Initially I was playing with unpainted figures. However, recently I have had the urge to paint them.  Perhaps because it is played on a flat board with 2-D terrain I see it somewhat as a board game. The figures are nicely sculpted but they did not really appeal too much to me to be painted.

However, with the advent of Contrast Paints the spur to paint the figures came about.

704BA167-18C5-4638-9919-77E07984315D

The first figures I painted were the Spearwives. There is one leader and then 12  spearwives. The latter come in three sculpts of four each. It was my first effort painting using the paints. These were painted mainly with  just one coat of contrast paint, after a base coat of Wraith Bone.

The flesh was painted with two thin layers of Gulliman flesh thinned down with medium. The hair was either painted with black Templar or Gryph hound orange. The orange turned out to be brighter than I wanted so I added a brown wash to dampen it down. The yellow was Nazdreg Yellow. It is strong and just needed one coat. The dark brown clothing was Wyldwood. This gain gave good coverage and needed only one coat. The leather boots and belts was painted with Snakebite Leather.this is a great colour. This may well feature when I paint with ordinary paints. The red fur was Gore Grunta Fur. It came out quite dark. I think I may add some medium if I use it again. The stone tipped weapons were painted with Basilicanum grey. The shafts of the spears was painted with cygor brown. This was really dark. When I used it on other spears I now dilute it quite heavily with medium. One of my favourite colours that I used was Aggaros Dunes. This give a very pale brown so perfect for these figures. The bones were painted with skeleton horde. I was quite pleased with the results. However, I felt that the flesh was a bit washed out, and the spears were too dark with little contrast.

4B7372E6-BEE5-48E1-8FC1-A8B45505D43B

These were the Raiders. With these I gave the flesh a coat first of Kislev flesh before adding the contrast paints. The greens were Creed Camo and militarum green. The fur this time was space wolves grey. I think I was more pleased with these as I was able to use the colours more effectively. This time, for the hair, I blended the paints before adding them to the figures. I found that the paints dry very quickly.

So final thoughts: these paints just used from the bottle are not going to produce the best ever painted armies. However, they do produce a very pleasing effect. For the time they took to paint and for the look that they give I am more than happy. Over 24  figures in less than a week with painting for, on average, an hour a day, it is a great time saver. I already have another 16 painted but need bases to be finished.

 

 

Leave a comment